Private-Browsing ITensure Incognito inPrivate

A browser remembers web-based content like usernames, passwords, and images to speed up the speed and simplify logins. While it makes revisits easier, some of these data can compromise your privacy. In general, a web browser does not keep the user’s information private.

Nowadays, we are aware of the importance of privacy and protecting personal information. We heard on many occasions that using “Private Browsing” will help. But what is a “Private Browsing” and how does it help?

A “Private browsing” feature was adopted in 2008 by many major web browsers. The design of this feature is to create a temporary session that does not associate with the browser’s main session and user data. The purpose of this design is to prevent data and history associated with a browsing session to be retained and can be discovered by another user of the same device.

While thinking of privacy, it is likely to see yourself searching the web in complete anonymity, but the truth is Private Browsing does not offer the full mask of privacy you’re seeking.

BY NOW, YOU MAY ASK HOW MUCH OF PRIVACY CAN PRIVATE BROWSING GIVE ME?

Not all privacy browsing is designed the same, but most private browsers will not record your cookies, browsing history, search records to your device. In other words, your Internet activity is not visible from others who use the same computer or devices. However, your employer, internet service provider, the websites you visited, and government agencies may still access the information of your browsing history, location, passwords, and cookies.

In addition, once a private browsing browser window is closed, downloaded files or bookmarks still at the folder it was saved.

It is possible, the cookies used during private browsing sessions can provide information about your browsing behavior to third parties before you exit. This means your web activity can still be tracked.

Let’s look at two popular Browsers’ “Private Browsing” features: The Incognito of Google Chrome, and the InPrivate of Edge.

GOOGLE CHROME INCOGNITO MODE:

Google Chrome’s Incognito Mode was designed to make it easier to share computers at places like the office. It won’t keep your browsing activity on your local computer, but it is still visible to your employer, schools, or your Internet Service Provider.

After you closed all windows in Incognito Browsing,

Chrome browser

Clears:

  • Your browsing history
  • Your download history
  • Your cookies and site data
  • Information you entered in forms
  • Permissions you give websites

Retains:

  • Websites you visit, including the ads and resources used on those sites
  • Websites you sign in to
  • Your employer, school, or whoever runs the network you’re using
  • Your internet service provider
  • Search engines you use
  • Search engines may show search suggestions based on your location or activity in your current Incognito browsing session.
  • Some of your info might still be visible

Downloads and bookmarks:

  • Saved Downloads folder remains, even after you exit Incognito. You and anyone who uses your device can see and open the files.
  • All bookmarks you create are saved to Chrome.
  • Some of your preferences, including accessibility choices and bookmark settings, may also be saved to Chrome.

MICROSOFT EDGE InPRIVATE MODE:

If the default search engine is Bing, searching in the address bar will automatically use InPrivate search. View Favorites and History are only available in a normal browsing window.

When you close all windows in InPrivate Browsing,

Edge browser

Clears:

  • Browsing history, download history, cookies, and other site data, cached images and files, passwords, autofill form data, site permissions, and hosted app data.

Retains:

  • Extensions saved your browsing history while browsing InPrivate.
  • Other Websites can still personalize your content during your InPrivate browsing session.

Downloads and Favorites:

  • Saved favorites and downloaded files
  • Allowed extensions you’ve given permission to run while browsing InPrivate.


A Private Browser is not A Secure Browser

A private browser prevents websites from installing cookies on your device. A secure browser makes it difficult for hackers to access your device.


IS A PRIVATE BROWSER SAFE?

Private Browsing will provide an added layer of safety with a current security update and secured operating system.

Private Browsing does not provide protection against cyber criminals gaining access to online tracks and traces that you may leave behind.


THAT DOESN’T MEAN PRIVATE BROWSING IS NOT USEFUL.
FOLLOWING ARE A FEW SUGGESTIONS IN USING A “PRIVATE BROWSING:”

  1. Accessing multiple email accounts. Webmail remembers last logged on user. You will need to logoff or select a different user login. Open a tab in private mode, and you will be able to operate multiple email accounts simultaneously.
  2. Using a shared computer or a computer that’s not yours. Sometimes you’re away from your own device and must use a device that does not belong to you. A private browser should prevent your passwords, search history, and browsing history from being saved on that device.
  3. Shopping. When you’re shopping, it is good to keep it private.
  4. Researching “delicate” topics. A private browser can protect your confidential information.
  5. Booking travel online. Private Browsing can prevent airlines, hotels, or booking sites to keep track of your needs and altering fares based on your search history.


SAFETY, PRIVACY, OR BOTH?

You probably want both online safety and privacy.

LET’S GET TOGETHER FOR A FREE CHAT.